When you’ve been hurt on the job, claiming workers’ compensation insurance should be easy, but it isn’t. The workers’ compensation statutes in Florida support the employer, making it difficult for injured workers to obtain necessary medical insurance and income loss payments when they are out of employment. When you’re knocked off your feet by a workplace injury or illness, we’re here to help. We must ensure that you receive all of the benefits you are entitled under the law in a timely and complete manner.
Once you’ve informed the employer of the incident, they have seven days to contact their insurance carrier. After that, the insurance firm has three days to give you a brochure outlining your legal rights and obligations. If you believe your employer failed to notify the insurance provider promptly, you can report the injury to the insurance company directly. On the “broken arm” poster that is supposed to be displayed at your office, The poster should include the carrier’s name and phone number. If you are unable to locate this poster, please contact our office for assistance at (352) 671-9777.
Benefits Authorization Letter
If you’ve disclosed the injury correctly, your employer or insurance provider should allow you to seek medical treatment and begin receiving benefits. You can never be paid for standard medical treatment, and workers’ compensation pays the physicians directly. If you’ve been out of work for seven days, you’ll be eligible for wage replacement benefits.
If your application is rejected or processed too slowly, you must file a Petition for Benefits. This is a formal request that initiates the judicial process for receiving benefits. You have up to two years to file this petition, depending on the topic at hand.
How much does medical insurance cost under workers’ compensation?
Workers’ compensation is expected to cover all of the medical expenses as long as it is medically required and approved. Doctor visits, hospital stays, physical therapy, examinations, medications, prostheses, attendant care, and other services are included. When medically needed, you can receive care from your authorized primary doctor as well as specialists. Workers’ compensation also covers travel to and from the doctor and pharmacy.
What are the different types of a low level of financial benefits?
Depending on the nature and degree of the accident, Florida workers’ compensation offers various benefits. Wage replacement payments are known as Temporary Total Disability, Temporary Partial Disability, Impairment Income Benefits, or Permanent Total Disability in most cases. You may be qualified for reemployment incentives such as retraining or career therapy in addition to these types of income replacement.
Temporary Total Disability (TTD)
If you are unable to work due to an accident, the employer pays TTD insurance. TTD is two-thirds of the regular weekly income, up to the legislature’s maximum amount, which in 2019 was $939. For up to six months after an injury, you will earn 80% of your daily earnings for such serious injuries.
Temporary Partial Disability(TPD)
Payments are available if the doctor allows you to return to work on a limited basis. TPD benefits are available for up to 104 weeks if you receive less than 80% of your daily salary on your restricted assignment.
Impairment Income Benefits (IIB)
You’ll be given a mark for any residual impairment until you’ve reached full medical improvement for your illness. Depending on your income and percentage of disability, the insurance provider uses a statutory formula to determine your weekly IIB payout and the number of weeks you will earn IIB.
Permanent Total Disability (PTD)
If you are unable to work due to an occupational disease or on-the-job accident, you will be eligible for PTD income replacement payments for the remainder of your life, assuming the condition does not change.
Does Florida workers’ compensation cover a fatal workplace injury?
Workers’ compensation pays benefits in a fatal accident, such as death within one year of the accident or during five years of continuous disability. Funeral costs of up to $7,500, educational benefits to a surviving spouse, and other payments to dependents, up to a limit of $150,000, are among the services.
What happens if you make a lawsuit after an accident on the job and your boss denies it?
Every day, Pam Olsen Ocala personal injury lawyer fights for people who have been injured in a car accident or on the job. We’ve taken on the world’s largest insurance firms and won. Please contact us for more information on Florida workers’ compensation and how Pam Olsen, Esq. will assist you (352) 671-9777.
Ms. Olsen has practiced law since 1992. During her law school education and throughout career she knew, if it is not about people, she is not interested. Everything about people interests Ms. Olsen from the simple details of living to the most profound. She began her law career in a skyscraper in downtown Miami representing corporate interests. Within a VERY short time, Pam knew that side of the things in the world was not for her.