Pam olsen law

Call Now To Talk to an
Attorney Immediately!

24 Hours A Day / 7 Days A Week

Pam olsen law

Golf carts are a popular way for residents to traverse Ocala and surrounding towns. Despite the small size and limited power of these vehicles, accidents can result in serious injury.

Review these safety tips before spending the day on the links or using a golf cart to run errands in your community.

Know the relevant laws

Florida considers golf carts low-speed vehicles, or LSVs, defined as vehicles with a top speed between 20 and 25 miles per hour. Golf cart drivers must have a valid Florida driver’s license and carry the state’s minimum liability insurance coverage. You can operate golf carts only on roads designated for LSVs with a posted speed of 30 mph or less.

Use passenger safety precautions

Do not carry more passengers than intended by the golf cart manufacturer. All drivers and riders should remain seated with seat belts on at all times.

Obey the rules of the road

When traveling in public, you must follow the same laws as other motor vehicle operators. Do not drive recklessly or operate a golf cart under the influence of alcohol or drugs.

Take care when turning

If you plan to turn, always signal your intention to other drivers on the road. Make sure you check all blind spots before switching lanes or entering an intersection, situations in which the risk of collision increases. Avoid sharp turns and always check behind you before reversing.

If you or a family member experiences a debilitating golf cart accident, you may have a case for legal compensation when another motorist caused the collision. Florida gives you four years to file this type of claim starting from the accident date.

Contact Pam Olsen today at (352) 671-9777. Or if you prefer, Schedule a Consultation with Pam Olsen, Esq.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *